X-CONTACT

It's what's inside that counts …

As a specialist for plugs and sockets MENNEKES is known worldwide for setting standards. In the past few years, we dealt intensively with current requirements of the electric mobility and automotive sectors. We used the know-how gained to develop a completely new contact sleeve solution for industrial connectors and receptacles: X-CONTACT


More contact …

It is important to achieve the best possible balance between a safe contact closure and ease of insertion. We have successfully implemented this with X-CONTACT in an entirely new way.

Due to a completely new manufacturing process, the X-CONTACT sleeve obtains resilient properties based solely on its material characteristics, without the need to use any additional spring elements. Thanks to the shape of the X-CONTACT sleeve, a particularly safe contact closure can be achieved.

… less effort!

The special design of the X-CONTACT reduces the effort of insertion and withdrawal by up to 50%. An advantage that simplifies work processes and improves safety especially with high electrical currents. With X-CONTACT, MENNEKES creates a safe contact closure and easy handling at a new, equally high level.

But how does X-CONTACT achieve these benefits even with currents of 63 A or 125 A? A glance into the opening of an X-CONTACT sleeve reveals the intelligent functional principle: the X-shaped slot and groove in the inner wall provides four advantages of the new design: innovative, simple, durable and safe. We call it the X principle.


The X principle

Innovative

Due to the slotted sleeves with their resilient material properties, X-CONTACT is the simplest possible mechanical solution: the plug pin simply opens the opening in the resilient contact sleeve, which reduces the force needed to connect and disconnect the plug by up to 50%.

X-CONTACT – intelligently innovative!

Simple

In practice, X-CONTACT simplifies work processes. The connection can now be handled by one person even with a current of 125 A, while conventional contact sleeves required two persons to connect and disconnect.

X-CONTACT – simply brilliant!

Durable

Even in cases when the plug is connected and disconnected frequently, there are no signs of wear and the sleeve material remains fatigue-proof in the long term even after rough handling. Due to the quality of
the new sleeves, contamination and surface corrosion is automatically removed by connecting and disconnecting.

X-CONTACT – lasting solution!

Safe

A higher degree of safety of handling is provided by the easier connection and disconnection. The groove within the inner wall in connection with the resilient material of the contact sleeves provides for a safe contact closure.

X-CONTACT – double safety!


Practice check 01:

easy to use

Particularly with currents of 125 A or 63 A, the forces required to connect and disconnect a conventional plug are very high. The plugs are often so stiff that two persons are needed to disconnect the connection. This not only disturbs the work process but is also a potential hazard.

Particularly in industrial applications, plugs and connectors have to be robust, but at the same time also help to simplify all processes and to make them as practical as they are safe.

X-CONTACT is perfectly suited for these requirements. The slotted X-CONTACT sleeves ensure noticeably smooth handling of the connector pins, without the need to overcome high resistance. The required insertion and pulling forces are reduced by up to 50% compared to conventional contact sleeves.

At the same time, the simplicity of the X-CONTACT sleeve is stable due to its design and withstands rough handling. This ensures easy handling of X-CONTACT and you do not need to worry about a safe, constant contact closure for a long time, because these X-CONTACT advantages are sustainable due to the wear resistance of the sleeves.

Less force.

The innovative manufacturing process and the material used ensure the elasticity of the sleeve. As a result, the force needed to connect and disconnect the plug is reduced by up to 50%. This can be done by one person – even with a current of 125 A!

Slot.

The top view of the sleeve shows the opening, which due to the slot can be opened by the plug pin. An effect that is only possible with this new MENNEKES innovation.

Resilient material.

The plug pin opens the resilient sleeve opening when it is inserted.


Practice check 02:

Strong contact and durable

Conventional connectors for currents of 63 A or 125 A have always been a compromise between simple handling and contact quality. Easy handling was only possible where contact quality was compromised, and vice versa. Due to the physical conditions, this dilemma seemed to be inevitable.
Due to the high requirements on the temperature resistance and the smooth insertion process in the automotive sector, we have achieved a higher quality of contact, and transfer it now from our automotive development to industrial applications. What is already established in the e-mobility industry, is now used also in our industrial plugs and sockets. In addition to the high-quality manufacturing technology, which allows the production of the resilient material, there is also a second important shape factor:
The inner walls of the slotted X-CONTACT sleeves have grooves perpendicular to the connection direction. The resilient material connects with this internal groove to form a highly flexible contact closure. Even with rough handling – in practice, the rule rather than the exception – slot, resilient material and groove together provide a safe contact in every situation.
A slight angle, which is almost always present in the connection of plug and connector, thanks to the X-CONTACT design, can in no way damage the sleeves. In addition, the connection of the resilient material and the grooved inner wall always forms a row of contact points. Even insertion and pulling of the plug under load does not reduce contact quality in connectors with X-CONTACT.

Groove in the sleeve inner wall.

It optimally complements the resilient material to achieve more contact and less force at the same time. Always – even when connecting and disconnecting the plug under load.

At the second glance.

If you look into the connector or the receptacle from the outside, you will see that they are provided with X-CONTACT sleeves.

Grooves and slots.

The groove in the inner wall also ensures the optimal contact closure because the slanted angles of the plug always form row of contact points.


Practice check 03:

reliable even under the toughest conditions

Innovative, simple, durable and safe – the X principle is not a promise, it’s a fact. But it is even better because X-CONTACT sleeves withstand the toughest conditions due to their simple, brilliant functional principle.

The interaction of the resilient material and groove is not only the guarantee for a secure contact closure, it also has the practical side effect that any contamination is removed when connecting and disconnecting the plug. Even surface corrosion is removed by the spring effect of the X-CONTACT sleeves.

For particularly corrosive environments – such as irritant chemical substances like ammonia – we offer the nickel-plated contact sleeves with all their advantages.

Contamination.

All deposits are removed from the pin by the grooves of the contact sleeve. This ensures a sustainable smooth operation under the toughest conditions.

Nickel plating.

Connectors and receptacles with nickel-plated contact sleeves ensure maximum resistance in aggressive environments. They withstand humidity, salty or acidic air and aggressive gases and vapours.

Resistant.

The cleaning effect of the grooves ensures reliable operational safety due to low contact heating even with high currents and strong contamination.


With X-CONTACT we set the standard for all industrial connectors and receptacles. For this reason we have implemented this new technological design in our entire product range. In future, all MENNEKES connectors and receptacles for currents of 63 A and 125 A will have an X-CONTACT, this means that you will benefit from the advantages of the X-CONTACT in all applications. This applies to all versions of the following product groups:

Connectors

Wall mounted receptacles

Panel mounted receptacles


Application examples

AMAXX® receptacle combinations with 63 A panel mounted receptacles

Mobile distributors with 63 A and 125 A panel mounted receptacles


Application examples for the North American market

Connectors and panel mounted receptacles in 60 A and 100 A

AMAXX® receptacle combinations with 60 A panel mounted receptacles

X-CONTACT

DIE INNEREN WERTE ZÄHLEN…

Als Spezialist für Steckvorrichtungen ist MENNEKES weltweit dafür bekannt, Standards zu setzen. In den vergangen Jahren haben wir uns stark mit neuen Anforderungen aus der Elektromobilität und dem Bereich Automotive befasst. Das hierbei gewonnene Know-how konnten wir nutzen, um eine völlig neue Kontakthülsen-Lösung für Industrie-Steckvorrichtungen zu entwickeln: X-CONTACT!


MEHR KONTAKT…

Bei Steckvorrichtungen sind die Kontakthülsen maßgeblich für die Qualität des Kontaktschlusses. Dabei gilt es, sicheren Kontaktschluss und einfache Handhabung in ein möglichst ausgewogenes Verhältnis zu bringen. Das ist uns mit X-CONTACT in ganz neuer Qualität gelungen.

Durch ein völlig neues Fertigungsverfahren federt die X-CONTACT Hülse ausschliesslich durch ihre Materialeigenschaften, ohne dass zusätzliche Federelemente erforderlich sind. Allein durch die besondere Formgebung der X-CONTACT Hülse ermöglicht das einen besonders sicheren Kontaktschluss. Und nicht nur das.

…WENIGER KRAFT!

Das spezielle X-CONTACT Design sorgt gleichzeitig für eine deutliche Reduzierung der Steck- und Ziehkräfte um bis zu 50 %! Ein Vorteil, der besonders bei hohen Stromstärken Arbeitsabläufe vereinfacht und die Sicherheit verbessert. MENNEKES bringt mit X-CONTACT also sicheren Kontaktschluss und einfache Handhabung auf einen ganz neuen, gleichermaßen hohen, Level.

Wie aber erreicht X-CONTACT diese doppelte Optimierung selbst bei 63 A oder 125 A? Ein Blick in die Öffnung einer X-CONTACT Hülse lässt das intelligente Funktionsprinzip bereits erkennen: Die x-förmige Schlitzung und Rillung der Innenwand entfaltet in der Anwendung vier konkrete Vorteils-Dimensionen: Innovativ, einfach, beständig und sicher. Wir nennen es das X-Prinzip!


Das X-Prinzip

Innovativ

Durch die geschlitzten Hülsen mit ihren federnden Materialeigenschaften bietet X-CONTACT die denkbar einfachste mechanische Lösung: Der Steckerstift drückt die federnde Kontakthülsen-Öffnung einfach auf, was bis zu 50 % weniger Kraftaufwand beim Stecken und Ziehen erfordert.

X-CONTACT – intelligent innovativ!

Einfach

In der Anwendung vereinfacht X-CONTACT Arbeitsabläufe. So sind die Steckvorrichtungen auch bei einer Stromstärke von 125 A von einer Person einfach zu bedienen, während bei herkömmlichen Kontakthülsen oft zwei Kollegen notwendig waren, um die Steckverbindung trennen zu können.

X-CONTACT – einfach genial!

Beständig

Selbst bei häufigem Stecken und Ziehen unter Last entstehen keine Verschleißerscheinungen und auch bei grober Handhabung bleibt das Hülsenmaterial dauerhaft ermüdungsfrei. Verschmutzungen und Oberflächenkorrosion reiben sich beim Stecken und Ziehen durch die Beschaffenheit der neuen Hülsen selbsttätig ab.

X-CONTACT – beständig gelöst!

Sicher

Die Vereinfachung von Stecken und Ziehen bewirkt auch eine höhere Sicherheit in der Handhabung. Die Rillung der Innenwand sorgt im Zusammenspiel mit dem federnden Material der Kontakthülsen für einen sicheren Kontaktschluss.

X-CONTACT – doppelt sicher!


Praxis-Check 01:

Einfach praktisch in der Handhabung

Gerade bei Stromstärken von 125 A oder 63 A sind die Kräfte, die man benötigt, um eine herkömmliche Steckvorrichtung zu stecken und zu ziehen, sehr groß. Die Steckvorrichtungen sind oft so schwergängig, dass häufig zwei Personen notwendig sind, um die Verbindung zu trennen. Das stört nicht nur den Arbeitsablauf, sondern es ist auch eine potenzielle Gefahrenquelle.

Besonders unter industriellen Einsatzbedingungen müssen Steckvorrichtungen robust gebaut sein, gleichzeitig aber auch dazu beitragen, alle Abläufe zu vereinfachen und sie damit ebenso praktisch wie sicher zu gestalten.

Für diese Anforderungen ist X-CONTACT perfekt ausgelegt! Die geschlitzten X-CONTACT Hülsen nehmen die Steckerstifte spürbar leichtgängig auf, ohne dass man gegen zu starken Widerstand arbeiten muss. Die benötigten Steck- und Ziehkräfte werden im Vergleich mit herkömmlichen Kontakthülsen um bis zu 50 % reduziert.

Gleichzeitig ist die Einfachheit der X-CONTACT Hülse bauartbedingt stabil und verzeiht so auch einen handfesten Gebrauch. Damit ermöglicht X-CONTACT ein einfaches Arbeiten, bei dem man sich über einen sicheren, beständigen Kontaktschluss keine Gedanken machen muss. Und das langfristig, denn diese X-CONTACT Vorteile bleiben dauerhaft erhalten, da die Hülsen keiner Abnutzung unterliegen.

Weniger Kraftaufwand.

Das innovative Fertigungsverfahren und das verwendete Material sorgen für die Elastizität der Hülse. Dadurch ist bis zu 50 % weniger Steck- und Ziehkraft nötig, um die Verbindung herzustellen oder zu lösen. Das schafft eine Person – auch bei einer Stromstärke von 125 A!

Schlitzung.

In der Draufsicht auf die Hülse sieht man die Öffnung, die dank der Schlitzung durch den Steckerstift aufgedrückt werden kann. Ein Effekt, der durch ein von MENNEKES entwickeltes Fertigungsverfahren überhaupt erst möglich wird.

Federndes Material.

Der Steckerstift drückt die federnde Hülsenöffnung beim Einstecken auf.


Praxis-Check 02:

Kontaktstark und langlebig

Herkömmliche Steckvorrichtungen für Stromstärken von 63 A oder 125 A waren stets ein Kompromiss zwischen Bedienkomfort und Kontaktqualität. Man bekam nur mehr Bedienkomfort, wenn man auf Kontaktqualität verzichtete, und umgekehrt. Bisher schien dieses Dilemma aufgrund der physikalischen Bedingungen unvermeidbar. Durch die hohen Anforderungen an die Temperaturbeständigkeit und die Leichtgängigkeit des Steckvorganges im Automobilbereich haben wir eine höhere Kontaktqualität erreicht und bringen diese jetzt aus unserer Automotive-Entwicklung in die industrielle Anwendung. Was in der E-Mobility-Branche bereits etabliert ist, kommt nun auch bei unseren Industriesteckvorrichtungen zum Einsatz. Neben der hochwertigen Fertigungstechnik, die das federnde Material ermöglicht, gibt es noch einen zweiten wichtigen Formfaktor: Die Innenwände der geschlitzten X-CONTACT Hülsen sind quer zur Steckrichtung mit Rillen versehen. Das federnde Material verbindet sich mit dieser Innenrillung zu einem enorm flexiblen Kontaktschluss. Selbst bei rauer Handhabung – in der Praxis eher die Regel als die Ausnahme – führen Schlitzung, federndes Material und Rillung im Zusammenspiel zu einer sicheren Kontaktierung in jeder Situation. Ein leichter Winkel, der beim Zusammenführen von Stecker und Kupplung praktisch immer vorliegt, kann dank der X-CONTACT Bauart in den Hülsen nichts beschädigen. Zudem entstehen durch das Zusammenspiel aus federndem Material und gerillter Innenwand stets gleich ganze Reihen von Kontaktpunkten. Sogar das Stecken und Ziehen unter Last führt bei Steckvorrichtungen mit X-CONTACT zu keinem Qualitätsverlust.

Rillung der Hülseninnenwand.

Sie ergänzt das federnde Material optimal, um mehr Kontakt und weniger Kraft gleichzeitig zu realisieren. Und das nachhaltig – selbst beim Ziehen unter Last.

Auf den zweiten Blick.

Von außen kann man durch einen Blick in die Kupplung oder Steckdose erkennen, dass X-CONTACT Hülsen eingebaut sind.

Rillen und Schlitze.

Die Rillung der Hülseninnenwand bewirkt darüber hinaus den optimalen Kontaktschluss, da selbst in schrägen Steckwinkeln stets ganze Reihen von Kontaktpunkten erzeugt werden.


Praxis-Check 03:

zuverlässig auch unter härtesten Bedingungen

Innovativ, einfach, beständig und sicher – das X-Prinzip ist kein Versprechen, sondern Fakt. Aber es wird noch besser, denn X-CONTACT Hülsen trotzen durch ihr einfach geniales Funktionsprinzip auch härtesten Bedingungen.

Das Zusammenspiel von Federung und Rillung ist nämlich nicht nur der Garant für einen sicheren Kontaktschluss, sondern es bietet auch den praktischen Nebeneffekt, dass alle Arten von Schmutzanhaftungen beim Stecken und Ziehen abgestreift werden. Auch Oberflächenkorrosionen werden durch die Federwirkung der X-CONTACT Hülsen regelrecht abgeschabt.

Für besonders korrosive Umgebungsbedingungen – zum Beispiel durch chemisch reizende Stoffe wie Ammoniak – gibt es die Kontakthülsen mit all ihren Vorteilen auch in vernickelter Ausführung.

Verschmutzung.

Alle Ablagerungen am Steckerstift werden durch die Rillen der Kontakthülse vom Stift entfernt. Dies gewährleistet einen dauerhaft störungsfreien Einsatz unter härtesten Bedingungen.

Vernickelung.

Steckvorrichtungen mit vernickelten Kontakthülsen garantieren höchste Beständigkeit in aggressiver Umgebung. Sie trotzen hoher Luftfeuchtigkeit, salz- oder säurehaltiger Luft sowie aggressiven Gasen und Dämpfen.

Widerstandsfähig.

Die Reinigungswirkung der Rillen garantiert hohe Betriebssicherheit durch geringe Kontakterwärmung selbst bei hoher Strombelastung und starker Verschmutzung.


 

Mit X-CONTACT setzen wir einen neuen Standard für die gesamte Welt industrieller Steckvorrichtungen. Wir etablieren diese neue technologische Basis daher in unserem kompletten Produktsortiment. Bei allen MENNEKES Steckvorrichtungen für Stromstärken von 63 A und 125 A gilt also in Zukunft: X-CONTACT inside! Das bedeutet für Sie, dass Sie bei allen Anwendungen von den X-CONTACT Vorteilen profitieren. Im Einzelnen betrifft das also sämtliche Varianten folgender Produktgruppen:

Kupplungen

Wandsteckdosen

Anbausteckdosen


Anwendungsbeispiele

AMAXX® Steckdosen-Kombinationen mit 63 A Anbausteckdosen

Mobile Verteiler mit 63 A und 125 A Anbausteckdosen


Anwendungsbeispiele für den Nordamerikanischen Markt

Kupplungen und Anbausteckdosen in 60 A und 120 A

AMAXX® Steckdosen-Kombinationen mit 60 A Anbausteckdosen